Tosh.No

Daniel Tosh has always been one of my favorite comedians. I religiously tuned into his show, Tosh.0,  every week, and even dropped an ungodly amount of money to see his tour live when it came to Tampa last year.

Tosh’s comedy thrives off of being offensive and vulgar, and it appeals to my generation; it has clearly made him one of the most successful comedians of today. But when does a line get drawn between what is appropriate for television broadcast and what is strictly too offensive to be socially acceptable.

I was curled on the couch watching Tosh.0 with my boyfriend this week when a seriously disturbing segment of the show was aired. Not only did I have to leave the room, but I have no desire to watch the show any time in the near future because of this one clip. The portion of the show called “web redemption” is a segment in which Tosh brings in a viral video superstar and gives them a chance to redeem themselves on air for their stupidity or clumsiness. The segment has featured famous YouTube stars, including the bed intruder song phenomenon Antoine Dodson and National Anthem butcher Natalie.

The web redemption I was offended by was for a politician who had a tantrum on his campaign tour and became a popular YouTube target. The segment featured an interview with Phil Davidson and proceeded with a shot of Davidson and Tosh in the back of a convertible, spoofing off of the Kennedy motorcade. The scene then showed Davidson’s head exploding, making fun of the devastating Presidential assassination.

I was so offended by this and thought that there was a huge issue with making fun of such a national tragedy. The Kennedy assassination happened almost 50 years ago, yes. But, I still don’t find it to be a laughing matter.

The first amendment grants us the right to free press, but I think that there should be considerations made by producers to ensure that viewers are not being lost due to poor public relations. Where should public relations people step in? I love the Tosh.0 show and I am sure that I will give it a second chance, but I hope that Daniel Tosh, who is still my favorite comedian, will proceed with caution when making jokes about national tragedies and devastating events like the Kennedy assassination.

 

2 responses to “Tosh.No

  1. Lexi, I remember you talking about this subject in class. I too love Tosh.O and am kind of glad I missed this episode! I love President Kennedy, even though he wasn’t alive during our time period. I loved learning about him in Rhetoric of the 60’s. This is definitely not a laughing matter and should never be made fun of no matter how long he has been dead for. I can’t believe he would even have had the audacity to think of putting this on national television. I agree with you on the fact that I will not be tuning in for quiet some time!

  2. Pingback: Blog Comments in One Location « Kayla Cancelmo

Leave a Reply

